10 Day TBR Challenge [Day 1]

Happy September!

The lovely Lissa over at Rabid Reads is hosting a 10 day TBR challenge, where each day you participate in a different themed challenge relating to your TBR (to-be read) books. As of now, my TBR is made up of a whopping 94 books. Being that there are so many books, I often forget about the names sitting in my TBR jar, so this challenge gives me the opportunity to go back through these novels and see the variety of stories I have waiting for me.

Before I get started, here are the prompts, if you care to join us:

  1. Contemporary: YA contemporary reads
  2. Stand alone: Books with no sequel
  3. eBook: Any book unread on an eReader
  4. Cover love: Books with stunning cover art
  5. Unfinished series: A series started, but not yet finished
  6. First in a series: First book in a series you want to start
  7. Movie adaptation: Books that have or will have a movie adaptation
  8. BIG book: Books with 600+ pages
  9. Recommended: books recommended by friends
  10. Unreleased: Future releases

❁❁❁

Day 1: Contemporary

1. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

The cover was quite enticing for this little book. I added it to my want-to-read list sometime ago and found it at one of my local used bookstores shortly after.

From what I know, it’s a contemporary romance between a boy and a girl, and the story is told from both perspectives. They both start off not liking each other, but then emotions change and develop and things happen.

 

 

{GoodreadsAmazonBook Depository}

2. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

I picked up this beauty at my local Barnes & Noble during B-Fest. Despite it being an ARC (advanced reader’s copy), I’ve yet to read it. Since it was given directly to me for review, I don’t feel as much as the need to pick it up and have instead left it up to my TBR jar, which only likes to give me fantasy.

Our Chemical Hearts is about a first love and how toxic it could be. Or at least, that’s what I think it’s about. When I pick up a book, I only read a few lines of the synposis. By the time I get it and notch it into my shelf, I tend to forget what it’s about. I like going into books as blind as possible, so I usually don’t remember much about the synopsis. But this one had a clean, captivating cover with an interesting title and synopsis. It was also free, so how could I resist?

{GoodreadsAmazonBook Depository}

3. Pointe by Brandy Colbert

This one was on my want-to-read list for quite a while before I finally purchased a cop from Book Outlet. As you can pick up from the cover, Pointe is about a ballerina. Specifically, a ballerina who suffered from an eating disorder (I think) and is now on the road to recovery. But things begin to get complicated when an old friend comes back into her life.

I always love a piece of work that includes some form of disorder or illness. It helps broaden my mind and understand and respect people even more than I already do. Dancing has also been a fascination of mine, even though I’m probably the sloppiest dancer in the world, so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

 

{GoodreadsAmazonBook Depository}

4. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

I’ve heard loads of good things about Love Letters to the Dead. When I spotted it during my last Book Outlet shopping trip for such a reasonable price, I simply couldn’t pass it up. Also, LOOK AT THAT COVER. SO MUCH COVER LOVE.

I believe this one is about a teenage girl who gets an assignment to write to someone who’s passed away, but she then becomes obsessed with it. She writes all of these letters to famous people who’ve died, telling them about herself and how high school is like. Through writing these letters, she discovers many things about herself and her own life.

 

 

{GoodreadsAmazonBook Depository}

❁❁❁

I hope you all join Lissa, myself, and many others in this fun book challenge. I’ve also been working on my blog this last week, changing the style and layout to match my new minimalist theme over on my Instagram, so do let me know if you like it.

6 thoughts on “10 Day TBR Challenge [Day 1]

Leave a comment